DVD36: Roots: the Original Series

Volume 1, Episodes 1-6 of 6

  1. Format: DVD
  2. Published: 1977
  3. Author: Wopler, David L et al
  4. Publisher: Warner Brothers; Wolper Pictures
  5. Catalogue Code: DVD36
  6. Quantity: 1
  7. Price: £9.49
This 4-DVD set is the first part of the Roots saga, based on the book by Alex Haley. The rest of the series is available in film and book form from the FURD library. The story is of Kunta Kinte, a Gambian warrior who is captured and sent to the New World as a slave, and the struggles against the suffering, slavery and discrimination endured by generations of black people. Stars include John Amos and Maya Angelou. Certificate PG; running time 94 minutes each episode. This 30th anniversary edition includes documentaries assessing the impact of the book and films.

Search library